Sprinkles on chocolate frosting

If you read my blog titled Sprinkles, you already know why this is special.

My sweet husband had to go to the store for parts last Saturday and asked if I wanted anything while he was there.

“I don’t know where you would get one, but it’s time I had a donut.”

His eyes twinkling, “With chocolate frosting and sprinkles.”

“Right!”

Bless him, he found a little trailer which happens to sell fresh donuts.

As I enjoyed every bit of that sweet with my tea, I praised God.

Because the donut is more than a rare dessert.

For me, it’s an opportunity to remember all the incredible ways God is good.

Especially, in my own life.

How He has loved me, provided for me, carried me, and is so faithful to me and my family.

Yes, I certainly can and do praise God regularly, not just when eating a donut.

But on that day, I wanted to do something special.

It was the end of a really trying week.

The previous one hadn’t been easy either.

And I knew the following weeks held a great deal of uncertainty.

So, in a way, I was building a monument.

In the midst of struggle and uncertainty is the most important time to remember Who God is and what He has done.

This remembering is a choice to love and trust God, because He is worthy.

And that truth is sweeter than any man made thing, including a donut with chocolate frosting and sprinkles.

Ecclesiastes 3:14 NKJV — I know that whatever God does, It shall be forever. Nothing can be added to it, And nothing taken from it. God does it, that men should fear before Him.

Leave a comment