I needed to hear that…

“But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” James 3:17

I hadn’t really wanted to at first.

Upon receiving my new phone I didn’t see any point to download a Bible app.

I love reading my Bible.

But I’m partial to the hard copy.

I want to be able to underline.

I like the feel of holding it.

I just didn’t see a need for one on my phone.

Yet, the voice of the Lord doesn’t have to follow my ideals.

(Frankly, I’m so glad He doesn’t!)

So, I downloaded the app.

When it asked me, “Want to join a reading plan of the book of James?” I didn’t put much thought into it.

I love that book.

Why not add it to what I’m already reading elsewhere?

This morning it was obvious.

James 3:17

It was exactly what I needed to hear this morning.

Before I had begun my day I had been talking with the Lord.

Frankly, I was whining.

There was something I want and the answer had been, “no”.

But instead of letting it go, I have brought the item back before the Lord more than once.

It shames me to admit,

I just didn’t want to let it go.

But as I read “willing to yield”

I knew.

God has answered.

And I need to yield.

The crazy thing about it is

this is actually a very small thing.

But I know those who are faithful in little will be trusted with much.

(Luke 19:17)

And I really do want wisdom from above.

(James 1:5-8)

I want it more than anything temporary.

I got the message.

It was a pleasure to yield.

Especially as I kept reading.

“Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.” James 3:18

Not only do I want the wisdom from above, I really want the fruit of righteousness.

I’m so thankful for these verses, which turned my heart from one of questioning to one willing to yield.

I’m also very thankful for the Bible app.

It’s a small thing.

Yet, what an impact one small moment of obedience has had.

“Dear Jesus,

Thank You for Your Word. Both in print and on my phone. Please continue to speak to me and our family through it. Lord, please forgive me for being stiff necked and not taking no for an answer the first time. Lord, I want Your wisdom and all the benefits which go with it. Please help me to walk with integrity. Thank You for Your incredible patience. Thank You for Your love. I love You!”

Leave a comment