The gift of God’s Word

It had been a long day.

Although nothing very striking occurred,

it felt extra long.

One of those days which seems to lag from fullness and requires extra grit just to endure.

I knew it was a battle.

That the enemy was working overtime on each member of our family.

As the evening stretched out,

drawing our weary bodies

toward our beds

I felt a strong need.

“Let’s read the Bible.”

I knew.

Many, if not all of us, were really more interested in sleep washing away the day than anything else, but not a complaint or sigh was heard.

I took that to heart.

They too understood we needed this more than sleep.

As I began to read my heart searched for comfort in the words.

I found lessons

and humor

and sorrow

as we read through part of 2 Chronicles.

Roman’s reminded us of our blessings.

To be able to have righteousness as a free gift from Jesus Christ through faith in Him.

Nothing, nothing can our own efforts do to save us, only faith in Jesus.

Then I read Psalm 20:1.

My voice became thick with emotion.

I had to pause after reading:

“May the LORD answer you in the day of trouble;”

My heart filled with thankfulness when I regained my voice and read:

“May the name of God of Jacob defend you;

May He send you help from the sanctuary,

And strengthen you out of Zion;

May He remember all your offerings,

And accept your burnt sacrifice. Selah

Psalm 20:2-3 NKJV

I paused.

Smiled at each face.

Then the next words:

“May He grant you according to your heart’s desire,

And fulfill all your purpose.” Psalm 20:4

Again I paused.

My heart brimmed over.

Jesus was answering my prayers.

His Words were healing to my soul and encouragement to my mind.

I’ve read these verses over again multiple times the past few days.

As I sat praying yesterday I realized these verses were a gift for me to pray over a circumstance.

Then I saw the verse God gave me for the new house:

“Through wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established;”

Proverbs 24:3

It was like a door opening.

Each of these life circumstances which are producing such turmoil in my heart can be prayed over with purpose.

And it doesn’t stop there.

I’m asking the Lord to give me verses not only for these troubling things,

but also for each member of my family.

It’s not a new thing.

I’ve prayed specific verses over my family members for years.

The opening realization was that God has something new for me to pray for each one.

My heart is eager and expectant.

What a blessing God’s Word is!

How great and awesome is He!

“Oh God, You are more awesome than Your holy places.

The God of Israel is He Who gives strength and power to His people.

Blessed be God!”

Psalm 68:35 NKJV

Leave a comment