Together

image

As the oldest of
2 girls raised
together,
I sometimes wished
someone else was
older to be “responsible”.

However, my younger sister
was always great at backing me
up.

Once when a group of girls in high school decided to pick on me
(on a daily basis)
they thought it would be
an added slight to include
my younger sister in their activities
while excluding me.

She listened to what they had to say
then came straight to me and related the entire business, explaining that
they now understood that she
had my back.

I have never forgotten the comfort her loyalty and love brought me.

Years later,
when I was living in Europe
my sister would email me regularly just to keep in touch.

She once sent me a song by Matthew West (the motions) and said,
“You are the only person I know who doesn’t have to say they haven’t given their all.

When I was in need of surgery she stayed the night in my hospital room acting as my personal nurse.

(Which was a huge thing as her husband and two little ones stayed home.)

Even last year she jumped in and taught a high school class when the teacher had to suddenly resign due to family illness.

So I can say even as adults my sister and I are
together.

And I am very thankful for the Lord blessing me with a sister.

As I raise my girls,
and speak to them about being
“responsible ”
for themselves and each other
I find that often
I use my own experience
as examples.

I often remind them that they don’t get a choice
who
their siblings are.

They don’t get a
choice
when
they were born
(1st, 2nd, 3rd,).

They only get to
choose
how
they will treat
the others.

Because together
is a privilege
as well as
a “responsibility”.

“If someone says,  ‘I love God,’ and hates his brother,  he is a liar;  for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen,  how can he love God whom he has not seen?”  1 John 4:20

Leave a Reply

