Blinded by greed

Can you see it?

It’s the horse panel we use for a gate and we’ve had it since we hung the first gate and realized the ground slopes badly.

The gap underneath the gate was much too large, so we swapped out the gate for the panel, due to it’s flexibility, it could be hung much lower.

All of our livestock have been kept inside the fence, because of this panel, but today it was invisible.

Besides being in good pasture all day long, our ram is fed grain twice a day.

He also gets a small amount of alfalfa after his grain in the evening.

But it’s never enough, he’s always in a huge hurry to get to the field in the morning and to the barn in the evening.

This morning he was especially anxious about getting there faster, but I was moving my normal speed, not feeling up to hurrying.

Because he out weighs me by at least a hundred pounds, I am very careful not to let him get pushy or try to force me to do something I don’t want to do.

This morning he was trying to drag me and so I spoke to him and lifted his head so he couldn’t see well.

Normally, this gets him to slow down and quit being so pushy.

Today, he started swinging his head around, trying to get it out of my hand.

It’s a short distance to the field so we were nearly at the panel when I decided to stop and try to calm him.

I spoke to him, still gently but firmly, holding his head up higher.

I’m not sure how it happened, but he suddenly got his head out of my hand and lunged forward.

I was still holding his collar when he blindly jumped, full force, into the panel with me.

Before I could get my feet back under me, his front feet went through the panel and he went down hard, nose first.

I fell too.

We both got up and I helped him get free of the panel and into the field.

The craziest part of it all, was the panel was open, if he’d not been fighting me we would have walked into the field no problem.

As I closed and secured the panel I told him I wasn’t impressed.

Still having other chores to complete, I didn’t reflect on the incident at the time.

(Besides thanking the Lord neither of us were hurt.)

It came back to mind when I was feeding 47 and 49 their nine o’clock bottles.

Both lambs stand at the gate while I open it and lately 49 has been dashing past me the moment it’s open and running all around the barn in a panic while I call him and feed 47.

It seems only fair that 47 should get to eat as soon as possible since he’s not running by me but instead running to me.

And there’s the lesson.

The animals have needs and those needs are regularly filled.

But blind greed has a way of causing not only a hindrance to those needs being filled, it’s caused unnecessary frustration.

Which I’m thankful for.

It is in these unnecessary frustrations that I see myself clearer.

The animals are animals and will never be self disciplined or self controlled, because their understanding is limited, they were not designed to be rational.

But God has granted mankind with not only rational thought, but discernment and self control.

Yet, greed causes blindness in humans as much as in animals.

For greed has another name: covetousness.

Exodus 20:17 KJV — Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

Romans 13:9 KJV — For this, Thou shalt not commit adultery, Thou shalt not kill, Thou shalt not steal, Thou shalt not bear false witness, Thou shalt not covet; and if there be any other commandment, it is briefly comprehended in this saying, namely, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

‭James 4:1-3 KJV‬
[1] From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members? [2] Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not. [3] Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your lusts.

How much sorrow, disappointment, and frustration have I caused my Lord Jesus, because I was blindly following greed instead of seeking my Shepherd?

Frankly, I’m glad I don’t have an answer to this question, but I’m thankful for the warning and the reminder to be on guard against covetousness.

Dear Lord Jesus,

Thank You for Your Word! Thank You for these lessons. Thank You for showing me the truth in my dealings with the sheep. Thank You for Your continued patience and mercy with me. Thank You for teaching me daily. Lord, please keep covetousness far from me. Let me be quick to discern when I’m lacking gratitude, for desire is held in check through contentment and a thankful heart. Lord, I praise You for giving me so much. My needs have always been supplied by You and I know You always will. Let my life be in line with Your Word:

1 Timothy 6:8 KJV — And having food and raiment let us be therewith content.

Philippians 4:11 KJV — Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

Thank You, Lord! Only through Your salvation can one find all they need, for whether hungry or full, there is assurance in Your salvation. I love You, Jesus. Amen.

5 thoughts on “Blinded by greed

  1. Pingback: Blinded by greed – QuietMomentsWithGod

Leave a comment