Dirt

image

It only takes a little to grow something.

It only takes a bit to get dirty.

It only takes a small amount to show up on the carpet.

But the incredible thing is it can be used for so many things.

Where would we be without dirt to cover pipes, wires, and unsightly rock?

How could we enjoy the smooth green of ball fields, golf courses, and parks without the dirt to grow the grass in?

How would we landscape yards, businesses, and even roadways without the dirt to grow the plants in?

So why go on and on about something so ordinary?

Because often it is the ordinary we take for granted and when it is missing things begin to fall apart.

I listened yesterday to a question I had to ponder.

“Where do you run when things go bad? Do you run to God? After my years of life and counseling others I can say many people don’t. There’s a few reasons why: 1st they don’t know who God is. 2nd they have made up an idea of God that’s incorrect.”

I had to think and pray about it.

How often do I take for granted the things I “know” about God?

Do I really dig deep into who He is or am I willing to live a shallow, topsoil relationship?

As I pray about this for the next few weeks my goal is to allow the Bible and His Spirit to turn up the soil.

You see I want more than the evidence of a little dirt on my carpet or a smudge for all to see across one cheek.

I want to be the soil that produces:
“But the other seed fell on good ground and yielded a crop that sprang up, increased and produced: some thirtyfold, some sixty, and some a hundred. ” Mark 4:8

Leave a Reply

