Chicken tractor

I began moving chickens into the tractors to elevate problems.

Some of the hens were being pecked to the point of baldness and I was losing eggs to at least one egg-eater.

After nearly a year things have settled down and we have plans for at least two more tractors.

They house chickens year around and we’d like more hens.

There are still a few drawbacks, one being the song birds.

Despite the low profile of the tractors our ground isn’t level and at times song birds get underneath the side to eat the chicken food and can’t get back out.

This occurred today with the tractor pictured.

Only one hen lives in this tractor currently as her friend is on detention in another tractor for egg eating.

I could tell the hen was upset when I went out to check the water, but I didn’t see why right away.

There was a song bird trapped in the tractor and the hen didn’t like it at all.

I tried a couple things to encourage the bird out, at the same time keeping the hen in.

(We stopped free ranging after having a hawk kill and eat one hen and the neighbors lost two.)

Nothing worked.

I think the hen was as frustrated as I, because she finally retired into the nesting box and I was able to propped the door open.

I walked around the tractor to the side where the little song bird lay with it’s beak open panting, the wire mesh between it’s top beak and bottom beak.

It was a pitiful sight.

Too exhausted to even try to fly out, it lay panting, looking up at me in sheer terror.

Thankfully, the hen remained in the box while it recovered and finally flew out.

I closed the door and told the hen she could come down.

Which she did after peeking out to be sure the song bird was gone.

It wasn’t until many hours later I realized I’d made a mistake.

In my effort to get the hen to the nesting box I’d evidently not latched the door to that part as I should have, because it stood open and the hen was having a dust bath in my flower bed.

I tried tempting her to return, first with popcorn and then with freeze dried worms.

Nope.

She was free and going to remain so.

I decided ignoring her might grant her the time to go back in and eat all the treats I’d left her, so I went to clean the chicken coop.

Not wanting to go too far Incase the hawk turned up.

(It wasn’t that long ago when we saw it perched on a garden post staring at the chickens in a different tractor.)

Her buddy is in a tractor nearby where I put the wheel barrow to clean.

She must have decided to visit her because when I came around with the shovel to open the coop, she flew up from beside the tractor her friend is in and took off leaving not a little noise behind her.

I shook my head.

If the song bird hadn’t gone where he shouldn’t have been, the hen wouldn’t have gotten let out of where she needs to be.

But I can’t explain to the hen what incredible danger she is in every minute she’s outside the chicken tractor.

She thinks she’s free and going to enjoy herself.

Isn’t this all familiar?

Don’t people do the same things?

God gives us His Word, instruction for how to live, warnings of danger, and food for our souls, yet people want to be free, to live as they choose, not realizing that this freedom is actually slavery, pain, and eventually death.

It’s a common failing in mankind, but praise God, no one needs to be a slave to sin and their own flesh.

‭1 John 1:5-10 KJV‬
[5] This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. [6] If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth: [7] but if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. [8] If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. [9] If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. [10] If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

Jesus Christ has provided all required for eternal life.

All anyone need do is accept His gift of salvation.

Once saved from sin and death, our flesh may still war against the Spirit, but there’s no longer the blind foolish arrogance which snubs the nose at God’s direction, for those who have accepted His sacrifice understand how precious a gift salvation truly is.

It is far too valuable to allow one’s flesh to rule one’s thoughts and actions, rather the costly price of Jesus’ blood brings one into that desire which leads them into both joy and gratitude not only for the gift, but also for His Word which guides, protects, instructs, and draws one ever closer to their blessed Redeemer.

I’m so thankful for the understanding God has blessed me with and grateful for His precious Word.

Living within God’s instructions is blessing and joy and peace.

Which our hen discovered as well when the Sun began to go down.

With the darkness deepening she realized the security of her tractor was where she wanted to reside after all.

Psalm 91:1 KJV — He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

Dear Lord Jesus,

Thank You for Your Word! Thank You for Your blessing and protection through Your Word. Lord Jesus, thank You for Your sacrifice. Thank You for all You have done and are doing. Thank You for helping me understand Your Word and the blessings of walking in Your ways. Lord, I know I have stumbled, I have been shortsighted, I have misunderstood, but I thank You and praise You for Your faithfulness and patience. Please continue to teach me from Your Word. Thank You, Jesus. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Chicken tractor

  1. Pingback: Chicken tractor – QuietMomentsWithGod

Leave a comment