When you do well to yourself…

Psalm 49:16-19 KJV‬
[16] Be not thou afraid when one is made rich, When the glory of his house is increased; [17] For when he dieth he shall carry nothing away: His glory shall not descend after him. [18] Though while he lived he blessed his soul, And men will praise thee, when thou doest well to thyself. [19] He shall go to the generation of his fathers; They shall never see light.

This portion of scripture is dealing with those who are rich yet not honoring God.

The Psalmist is declaring that no matter how wealthy or popular a person maybe, their end is eternal separation from God.

Why?

‭Psalm 49:6-7 KJV‬
[6] They that trust in their wealth, And boast themselves in the multitude of their riches; [7] None of them can by any means redeem his brother, Nor give to God a ransom for him:

Because earthly wealth is not eternal nor can it pay the price for sin, only the blood of Christ Jesus can.

As followers of Christ, it may seem these verses are not applicable, for those who put their trust in the Lord are in the light and wrapped in the garment of salvation.

Yet, scripture is applicable to all, and it isn’t wise to pass things within scripture off as not important to me.

For there’s a warning within that the believer can attend to.

Psalm 49:18 NKJV — Though while he lives he blesses himself (For men will praise you when you do well for yourself),

The rich person is praised, and “blesses himself” not God.

In the New Testament Jesus tells a parable which parallels this Psalm.

‭Luke 12:16-19 KJV‬
[16] And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully: [17] and he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits? [18] And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods. [19] And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.

The rich man is blessing himself, but his end is sobering.

‭Luke 12:20-21 KJV‬
[20] But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided? [21] So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

There’s the key: “… treasure for himself, and is not rich towards God.”

Clearly anyone can apply this truth, for nothing belongs to us, all is given by Him.

Therefore, it’s important we not lay up treasures for ourselves, bless ourselves, praise ourselves, but rather look to God for His direction in all we have.

That our hearts be focused upon the glory of God.

Psalm 62:7 KJV — In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.

Dear Lord Jesus,

Thank You for Your Word. Thank You for teaching me through these verses to be on guard against “blessing myself”. Lord, please keep me humble, that I might not fall into legalism. Lord, please continue to teach me daily what to do with what You have placed in my care. Lord, I want to be a faithful servant, honorable before You, meek and loving. Please continue to teach me how to walk in Your Word and follow after You. For Your ways are perfect, Your truth is awesome, and Your promises sure. Surround me with wisdom and feed me with Your truth. Thank You, Jesus. Amen.

Leave a comment