“Abba, Father”

Those raised in a loving home with a godly father are blessed indeed.

Sadly, many have never experienced the identity, the nurture, and love of a godly father bestows on their children.

Perhaps just the word family feels foreign or holds connotations bringing anything but the feeling of safety, love, and belonging.

Yet, it is into the family, which God calls His beloved.

“For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.” Gal. 3:26

When one believes upon the Lord Jesus Christ, they are granted not only redemption from sin, but adoption.

“For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.” Romans 8:15

None are exempt who put their trust in Jesus Christ and die to themselves that they might have life eternal.

“And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.” Luke 9:23-24

This is far more than what earthly bound mankind can imagine, but through God’s Word one captures a glimpse, a flavor, a note, or possibly an entire line of what God means when He said, “adoption”.

“And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.” Gal. 4:6-7

God’s adoption brings each one into the family as the heir of God.

“Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with spiritual.” 1 Cor. 2:12-13

God’s Holy Spirit dwells in us, teaching our spirits about our Heavenly Father.

“The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.” Romans 8: 16-17

Once one has been adopted, that child of God sharing in Christ’s suffering, but also share in the fruits of His righteousness.

“I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” John 15:5

God’s offer to the sinner is not only payment for their sins, but a place in His family.

Adoption.

It’s not superficial.

It’s not temporary.

It’s not insignificant.

It is eternal.

It is belonging.

It is love.

For thorough Jesus’ sacrifice He paid the price of adoption and brought about a new birthright for those who would accept His invitation.

“Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever.” 1 Peter 1:23

Therefore, those who have believed on the Lord Jesus Christ can cry out, with arms outstretched,

“Abba! Father!”

Dear Lord Jesus,

Thank You for Your Word! Thank You for this truth. It’s astounding that You paid my sin with Your blood. Purchased me with the highest price and rather than demanding me to become Your slave, as mankind does to one another, You call me a member of Your family. You gave me Your name and You nurture and care for me. Lord, Your Holy Spirit resides with me and I am so humbled to have a seat at Your table, a place in Your mansion, and the privilege of being asked to serve others around me in Your name. Lord, thank You! Thank You for loving me to this degree. Thank You for helping me walk with You daily. Thank You for Your Word which tells me of these amazing truths. I love You, Jesus. Thank You for loving me first. Amen.

Leave a comment