In the midst of the storm

image

This was last Thursday.

The track meet continued even though it was raining.

The track meet continued even though it was very windy.

The track meet paused briefly while it hailed, but didn’t stop.

In fact, I was impressed at the drive of the athletes in such weather.

Our daughter asked her coach if she had ran faster in the races she entered than her best times at other meets  (it’s called a pr).

“PR? Not in this weather, you’re not going to PR.”

Then he assured her she ran very well.

Just as the meet was finishing up the sun broke through the clouds.

A rainbow.

In the midst of the storm our athletes gave their best.

In the midst of the wind blown rain, they ran their races, or jumped or threw.

It is in the midst of trials, tragedy, and tests we prove a few truths.

When I’m struggling with poor health I’m not going to run my race as well as when I feel fine.

When people I love are dealing with weighty circumstances the effort to continue in the daily grind will be more.

When God is showing me areas of sin in my life, I’m going to feel discomfort, even pain.

Yet through the storm He is ever constant.

Through the effort, He builds strength.

Through the clouds, He breaks through with beauty.

In the midst of the storm it is going to be difficult to run my very best, but the self discipline and perseverance I gain are well worth it.

It causes me to be able to run the race of life even better when times and seasons are sunnier.

As I look toward another weekend and the week following I’m asking the Lord to break through the storm of busy.

To help me run no matter the weather.

I look toward the Lord instead of the storm.

Leave a Reply

