Effort

image

As beautiful as these are,
they take effort.

Recently I was chatting with a mother on how much time and attention she put into her oldest four children.

Her efforts have definitely paid off, they are terrific people.

As the weather begins to allow more time outdoors I realize how much effort is required to return my yard to the beauty of last season.

Effort is required in the things which are truly important.

Walking with Jesus is tough.

John wrote to the church reminding them to hold on and walk in the truth.

“Little children, let us not love with word or tongue, but in deed and truth.” 1John 3:18 NASB

It takes effort to love others.

It takes continued decisions to walk in loving others.

Forgiveness, kindness, self-sacrifice,…
all come from a choice to give them.

Yet, we are only showing a tiny glimmer of the love and effort which was given to us by Christ.

“By this the love of God was manifested in us, that God has sent his only begotten Son into the world so that we might live through Him. In this is love,  not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be propitiation for our sins.” 1John 4: 9-10

Lord, thank You for loving me first. Please help me to love those You have placed around me, both my family, my friends,  my neighbors,  and any strangers You would like me to reach out to. Help me to understand that true love has boundaries and it is only in the truth of Your Word that can bring new life, wisdom,  and hope. Thank You for the effort You made. Help me to be diligent in my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

