What are you wearing?

image

It’s not the best picture, but this teddy was wearing the cutest white dress with pink embroidery.

(I was bear sitting for an adorable little gal at one of our basketball games.)

Being female and raising three daughters I ask the “wearing” question in many ways.

I often stand I’m my own closet and ask the Lord, “What am I wearing today? “.

Yet the truth of what I am clothed in is so much greater.

No matter what is covering me, be it a dress or slacks and a sweater there is a much more important garment.

“I will greatly rejoice in the LORD, My soul shall be joyful in my God; For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness,…” Isaiah 61:10a NKJ

No matter what I’m walking through or how life turns I’m clothed in salvation.

Because Jesus Christ has cleansed me from my sins I can walk in the joy of the future.

Recently, a fugitive from justice turned up on my mother’s front porch. She called the police and the woman was safely apprehended.

My mom is a widow and lives alone.

I was relating the story to a member of our church and they were surprised.

“Wow, that can be scary!”

I smiled.

My mom had been a bit nervous by being awakened at 2am by this person, but her compassion for the woman led her to give the hat I had made her for Christmas.

“She just looked so cold, I wanted her to wear a hat,” my mom said.

(I assured her I can make another.)

Even personal injury isn’t a huge worry when one is clothed with salvation.

Mom and I both have a security in eternity with Christ.

So…

What are you wearing?

Leave a Reply

