A gentle heart

image

Every child is a special gift.

Every person has a unique calling.

Every human was created individually by God.

To each of us He gives a different blend of strengths and talents.

A gentle heart is one of the gifts He gave our Beth.

I was up very early this morning, because with the cold and snow our house is dependent on the wood heat.

When I awoke, I could tell our fire had died down.

Thankfully, I was able to get a new fire warming up the house before long.

For no reason in particular, I decided to go back to bed and the next thing I know, I’m blessed by breakfast.

(Beth would be unhappy with me if I let you think all she fed me was toast, fruit, and tea. I took the picture before she brought in the eggs and another plate of fruit.)

One of my favorite memories of our Beth is when she was on the door step of two years old.

Jase was a newborn and needed a change.

I laid him down and began to undress him.

Beth suddenly emerged from the bedroom with the wipes.

She had seen and understood my task and had rushed to help.

She’s still like that.

Her birthday is Christmas day.

(I was overdue ten days and scheduled to induce on the 26th.)

So as her gift to our family she cooked a huge breakfast of eggs, sausage, and pancakes. She decorated the table and made sure we had our choice of tea, hot chocolate,  or cider.

Her gentle loving personality is also a shy quiet one.

She doesn’t like crowds or large parties.

She feels uncomfortable meeting new people.

She’d rarely tell anyone when her feelings have been hurt, but would rather seclude herself to work through the emotions.

I’m certain God has a plan and a purpose for each of our children and created them with the gifts and abilities they will need.

As I watch each of them, and pray for them, I am encouraged.

Although they each have areas of growth, so do I.

When it comes to being a loving wife and Mom, I think of our Beth.

“Lord, please help me to have a gentle heart too.”

Leave a Reply

