Faith

image

Not all of the things I come across do I handle with faith.

Yet,
I want to.

This past week, while I was away with the basketball team, I received a call from my husband.

In a brief description I found that our home was experiencing very peculiar electrical problems.

Which included light bulbs bursting in different rooms.

My husband decided the safest course was to turn off all the power and spend the night at my mother’s house.

I can honestly say I was concerned.

We prayed together over the phone and then said good night.

As I continued to pray for my family and our home fear began to rise.

What if our house catches fire?
What if the power problem burned the wires inside the walls?
What could we possibly do?

Then the still soft voice in my heart spoke.

“You have to trust Me.”

“You’re right Lord. I’m sorry for my lack of faith.”

I read my Bible and was able to get a good night’s rest.

The following day my husband called to inform me the power pole near our home had a wire which was defective.

The power company would be working to fix it as well as assess the damage.

Our dryer was no longer working, but none of our other main appliances seemed affected.

It wasn’t until yesterday when I was putting together the Sunday school lesson…

It was the story of the Centurion with a sick servant.

He had heard of Jesus and had sent messages to ask Jesus to heal his servant.

The Bible records in Luke that Jesus began to head to the Centurion’s home when another message arrived.

The Centurion sent word saying, “Lord, do not trouble yourself : for I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof: neither did I think myself worthy to come to you : but, say a word,  and my servant shall be healed. For I also am a man set under authority,  having under me soldiers,  and I say unto one , Go, and he goes; and to another, Come, and he comes; and to my servant, Do this, and he does it.”

Wow–

This Centurion’s faith is stunning.

I wish I’d handled our power issue with the same faith.

The wonderful thing about walking with Jesus is His patience.

Like the beauty of the frost in the morning, God gives me another day to learn, another day to try, another opportunity to trust, another chance to respond with faith.

Leave a Reply

