Learning from example 3

image

Life doesn’t follow the paths we think it should or will.

God has His own design and He promises to be with us.

Yet more than once, I’ve found myself wondering what the path ahead of me holds.

Those moments when I look up and ask the Lord, “What now?”.

Infact I’m living one of those moments.

I love the way Ruth handles herself when she arrives in Bethlehem.

It isn’t recorded if she spoke to the women of the town.

Nor what her feelings were when they arrive.

What is recorded: her willingness to do the task at hand.

“And Ruth, the Moabitess said unto Naomi, ‘Let me now go to the field, and glean ears of corn after him in whose sight I shall find grace.'” Ruth 2:2 KJV

Ruth lived in a time when an unmarried woman had very little ability to work.

Yet God had placed it in the law that the fields when harvested could be gleaned by the poor, as well as the corners.

It was back breaking work and more than likely dangerous since she was a foreigner.

Yet Ruth went out and worked in the fields.

She didn’t know how God was going to care for her and Naomi, but she was willing to do what she could.

She was humble.

She was hard working.

She was willing to do whatever needed to be done.

How can I learn from her example?

What would God want me to apply from Ruth’s life?

Where might the opportunity be for me?

I can remember and be encouraged by Ruth’s story of faith.

I can look for the tasks at hand and do them diligently with joy, knowing God is Who I’m working for.

Where each opportunity God has for me is in His hand.

These are the best things I can learn from Ruth’s example.

Leave a Reply

