Out of the abundance

image

Roses can produce some of the most stunning displays.

There is a reason they are so often used in flower arrangements and bouquets.

Yet, as often as one can appreciate the beauty of bud and bloom it seems the thorns are easily overlooked.

Why?

Who would focus on the thorn when they can enjoy the beautiful flowers?

Yet, the older I get the more I realize just how the picture of the rosebud can remind me of truth.

No matter the effort or money or time to create an outward appearance of beauty the inward must be tended to.

Not unlike removal of thorns before clipping the blossom.

If I am going to be a woman who is beautiful inwardly I must take time to hone my character and humble myself before the Lord.

One of the best ways to be certain my heart is becoming more like Jesus is to pay attention to what I say.

Jesus, Himself said: ” A good man out of the good Treasure of the heart brings forth good things and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things but I say unto you that. Every idle word that men shall speak they shall give account thereof in the day of judgement. For by thy words you shall be justified and by thy words you shall be condemned.” Matthew 12:35-37

My heart must belong to Christ to have the good treasure and too often the areas which have yet to be completely made new show themselves through an idle word or gossip which crosses my lips before I’ve even expected it.

The thorn is out, and at times already drawn blood, before I have the pruners sharp.

The words I speak can bring forth a true reflection of the condition of my heart.

Yet God is merciful.

He allows the thorns to show me areas which still need pruning.

He continues to cleanse and renew me.

He blesses me daily.

Out of His abundance, I am made new!

Leave a Reply

