Broken and made new

image

” We are hard pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed–always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body.”
2 Cor. 4:8-10

It can seem to be overwhelming.

Troubles at work.

Problems with the neighbors.

Strife within the family.

Financial strain.

Questions about tomorrow.

Health issues–the list is long.

There are many ways we can feel pressure.

Often times we see these things as landmines to be avoided, and there are definitely things the Bible calls us to do which can bring peace and joy.

Yet, there are other times as well.

Times when we can not see the pain and pressure we are feeling are in fact for our good.

Two years ago I was given a lovely jade plant in an adorable ceramic pot.

I have really enjoyed the plant and even gave it a name.

Our daughter got a kitten this summer.

For some reason she took a dislike to the plant.

It only took seconds from the crash to my investigation to find the jade broken.

Two large pieces were laying near the over turned pot.

I wasn’t happy.

I did know that if properly cared for a broken piece can be rooted, so I took that angle after repotting my plant.

The picture at the top of the blog is the new jade.

Now I have two.

It wasn’t my plan, nor has it been easy keeping, but I couldn’t have seen how the kitten attacking my plant would work out to my benefit.

(I’m actually working to make the second plant a gift at Christmas! )

Life is like that.

No matter the pressure we need to see life through God’s perspective.

There are things which are simply a consequence of living in a fallen world, but God promises to use those things in our lives for our benefit.

Living like Jesus isn’t comfortable or easy, but it is what we are called to do.

So, no matter the source of the pressure, stop and praise God for His hand in it.

Leave a Reply

