LORD, how do I pray?

image

This is a question not original with me.

The disciples asked Jesus the very same question.

Yet there are many answers to this question as one looks through scripture.

Jesus gave the disciples this prayer:
“Our Father which are in heaven, Hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come.  Your will be done,  as in heaven, so in earth. Give us day by day our daily bread. And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us. And lead us not into temptation;  but deliver us from evil.” Luke 11:1

In other places in scripture we find our hearts can hinder our prayers.

There are prayers recorded which we can study and glean from.

Even so God makes it clear the words of a prayer are not the key, it is the heart of the person.

The thief on the cross next to Jesus didn’t use flowery words or special phrases or even eloquent speech yet Jesus said his request would be answered that very day.

Since the heart is so important I’m continually asking the Lord to make right those things which are wrong in my own.

But I don’t stop there.

Recently I’ve been bringing items to the Lord and asking,  “LORD, how would You have me pray?”

It used to be a concern would come and I would take it to the Lord.

“Father, our child is struggling in this subject. Please help them get their grades up. Please give them courage to keep trying…”

Now I’ve changed.

“Father,  how should I pray for our child? They are really struggling in this subject? ”

Then I listen for an answer and pray accordingly.

It has been a new place to learn and walk.

I’m certain it is not the last lesson I will have in prayer.

Because prayer is a relationship with the God of the Universe, not a formula or equation.

Since He is the Creator of all things I’m certain He understands just how
it was originally meant to work.

So as I pray for the list of concerns today, I want to be attached to the will of God.

What better way is there than to ask Him daily:
“Lord, how do I pray?”

Leave a Reply

