A day in the life of Isaac

image

This is our dining table.

On a typical day it can look just the same or it can be covered in papers and dishes and other items.

But it is a part of our everyday life.

So what does it have to do with Isaac?

Very little, if at all.

Infact it is a picture of my everyday, not Isaac’s.

Yet the idea of looking into the life of a man who was the son of Abraham, who had God so integrated into the fabric of his entire life, has been teaching me of late.

One thing which truly surprised me was thinking about this man’s history and realizing he didn’t know he would be included in God’s Word.

He didn’t know how his life was going to go.

He simply lived and trusted God to care for him.

He was a living being, not just a Bible hero.

Gen. 26 is what grabbed my attention.

It begins with a famine.

Not the way anyone wants their life to turn.

Yet with the famine comes God’s voice to Isaac.

Gen. 26:3-4
“Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land of which I will tell you, Dwell in this land and I will be with you and bless you; for to you and your descendants I give all these lands and will perform the oath which I swore to Abraham your father.”

God continues on with His promises for Isaac.

And Isaac’s response is staggering.

“So Isaac dwelt in Gerar.” Gen. 26:6

He simply obeyed.

Why does this amaze me?

Because it is rare.

In my own life, when things are bad, when there isn’t enough, when I’m watching those around me suffer, I don’t want to stay there. I want a change.

I want to make something work.

I  want to move into a better place.

When Isaac was in the middle of a famine with his animals, servants, and wife, God said, “Don’t go anywhere till I say so.”

And Isaac obeyed.

So I’m looking at this scripture and asking God to help me.

To remind me in the circumstances I don’t find comfortable that to obey is far better than to run.

Because Isaac was a real person with emotions and concerns, sorrow and joy and toil, I can follow his example and also obey God.

I’m praying for the courage to stick it out when things are tough, because Isaac’s life proves God is faithful.

And I want my everyday life to reflect that.

Leave a Reply

