A little bird…no actually a tree full

image

I’m in a hurry.

I have a long list of things.

I’m quickly striding from one building to the next,
opening up,
getting my day going,
when I hear the birds.

Wow- that’s neat I think as I stride past and the door swings closed.

I’m not more than one step inside when I realized.

Those birds were there yesterday and I didn’t stop to listen.

Where they there the day before?

I can’t even remember.

Softly my heart feels a gentle tug.

Will I miss the beauty of the moment because of the busy of the day?

No.

Swinging the door back open I pull out my phone to capture the beauty.

I couldn’t see the birds well, but their music is now recorded.

Since then I’ve listened many times to the music of the birds and each time I’m blessed.

It truly is the small things in life which brings me the most joy.

Our son hugging me around the middle.

(He’s the last one to be small enough to still do that.)

Morning prayer with my husband.

The blessing of beautiful daughters just having fun dancing to a favorite song.

The sunrise.

The sunset.

A cup of tea and toast in the morning.

All these things could easily go unnoticed.

Just like missing the birds’ song.

Too many times I’ve missed these little blessings.

Thankfully, God tugged on my heart and I was able to enjoy the music of the most incredible of musicians.

So, I’m asking the Lord to continue to hold me that I might not miss even one blessing.

I’m asking Him to help me keep from the past habits of allowing my schedule to be more important than the appointments He has for me.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. ” Gen. 1:1

And I don’t want to miss even one sliver of it.

I don’t want to waste a moment of the precious gift He has given : life.

2 thoughts on “A little bird…no actually a tree full

  1. nickyab

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful praise to our Father. You are right, it is so easy to miss all his favours and they are there to appreciate. Much love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

