Spring rain

image

Isaiah 61:11
For as the earth brings forth it’s bud, as the garden causes the things that are sown in it to spring forth, so the Lord will cause righteousness and praise to spring forth before all the nations.

Every day this week I’ve read this verse.

It’s almost like I can’t fully understand what it is saying.

To imagine the buds on the trees and flowers, to watch the tiny heads of seeds break from the soil is all something I understand.

Yet to see righteousness and praise bud and bloom from the nations of the Earth seems almost unheard of.

Until I flipped open a magazine.

Page after page held the faces of people around the world making a difference for Christ.

I smiled.

And prayed for a member of our church who is currently on a mission trip.

This afternoon I walked out into the gentle spring rain and allowed the Lord to refresh my perspective.

If His Word says something it is truth, even when I can’t see it.

Just as the rain nourishes the ground so God’s Word fills my heart and mind with exactly what I’m lacking.

As the damp earth grows subtle and pliable so should my attitude towards the events around me.

Things might seem dead.
The pain of sin still grips one like frost in winter.
Yet as the rain washes off
the old
the dead
the dry
So the promises in God’s Word can wash off the pessimistic and bitter attitude which can come from the sad broken affects of sin.

Leave a Reply

