Real Joy

image

I love this tiny snowman.

The kids made him outside our front walk.

It has a look to it that makes me think of dancing.

Maybe because that was the reaction our kids had when it snowed.

Or maybe it’s the way his little stick arms are reaching out.

Maybe it’s just the joy I feel in my heart after the break from routine.

Yet I find I’m also eager to rejoin the schedule again.

Looking forward to the basketball games, piano lessons, and the faces of my students.

As I read recently the Lord made us to find enjoyment in the everyday tasks of life.

The things which can seem mundane are actually a blessing.

It just takes a different perspective to realize it.

“I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice,  and to do good in their lives,  and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor–it is the gift of God. ” Ecc. 3:12-13

The good of one’s labor can easily be overlooked.

We paid the power bill–but am I praising the Lord or thinking about the other bills?

We ate breakfast–am I stopping to thank the Father or am I just rushing on to what I need to do for lunch and dinner?

Where is my focus?
What can I rejoice over?
How am I noticing the gifts of God?

They are the little blessings all around me,
like the snowman,
just waiting for me to notice.

Praise the Lord for real joy!

Leave a Reply

