The song of Mary

image

“My soul magnifies the Lord,  And my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior.” Luke 1:47

I felt the same way after the birth of each of our children.

Although they were healthy and born without complications I knew it was God Who had helped me deliver each one.

Yet Mary spoke these words before she ever felt the first flutter, the first hiccup, the first twinge of pain.

She was a young woman, not yet married.

She had just been greeted by Elizabeth, who prophesies over Mary and her coming son.

I believe her song reflects her faith in the Lord, despite her circumstances.

What an amazing example Mary is.

To sing instead of complaining or worrying.

To trust without knowing how it would all turn out.

To be able to walk into motherhood as no other woman has ever done or will ever do, because Mary’s son was Jesus, Savior of the World.

As I bake cookies and arrange our schedules and wrap gifts I want to remain humble and thankful.

To look to God and thank Him for every blessing.

To trust Him for the future.

To sing His praises and look to His salvation!

Thank You, Lord for Christmas and the gift of our Savior, Jesus Christ!

Leave a Reply

