A slight delay

image

This was the result of our slight delay.

Good morning!
We got up at 5:00am.

Ate.

Prayed.

Hugged and kissed.

Then left to pick up my Mom so she could drive our car back from the airport.

A mere 3 1/2  hrs later we say goodbye to Grandma and head in to check our bags.

That’s when I found out we weren’t going to be able to fly and make our connecting flight.

Hmmm–

The nice lady behind the counter gave me a bunch of options on rescheduling our flights to different places with the understanding we might be stuck overnight in New York.

I just stood still.

All my kids staring at me.

“Mom, what are we going to do? ”

I had to make a choice.

I couldn’t think of anything other than too many options, too many possibilities.

The lady looked expectantly at me.

The line behind me long.

I smiled.

“Please forgive me. I have to stand here and pray about it,” I said.

So I closed my eyes and settled my heart on listening.

Then I took a deep breath.

“Okay, we will wait and fly in the morning. ”

Turning to our oldest I asked her to text her Aunt and Uncle who live about half an hour away to see if we could stay with them.

Turned out to be the right decision.

I found out our middle daughter had been booked separately so it was creating an issue with checking in on the flight.

When my hubby’s younger sister came and picked us up I was surprised.

She was excited to have us stay and hang out.

Just happened to be her day off.

We chatted while the kids swam in the pool just outside her apartment.

Then she and sis took her dog to the park and picked up some cereal for our 3:00am breakfast.

We watched 2 movies, ate dinner, Jason played games on Uncle Travis’ tablet.

Then they let us take over their bedroom while they bedded down on the couch.

What an amazing blessing one reschedule made for us.

Hopefully our family was blessed as well.

It is all because our perfectly made plans fell apart.

I never cease to be amazed at what God can do.

Phil. 4:4
“Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I say, rejoice.”

Leave a Reply

