“Clothes the grass of the field”

“Why do you worry about what you shall wear?” Matt. 6:28 a NIV

Distinctly this caught my attention.

I do worry about what I will wear.

From childhood my clothes have caused me problems.

I remember being teased and ridiculed for wearing clothes I thought looked fine.

As a teen,
it increased.

I rarely could find the “in” items in my size and if I did somehow I didn’t wear it with the correct hair style or the proper jeans or the wrong shoes.

Sometimes I grew so weary of trying I’d give up completely and wear my favorite sweat shirt that had a teddy bear stencil on the front. (Not the style essential,  but it made me smile.)

Those days were long behind me when I read this verse.

I was a young married new baby Mommy, who didn’t think about what I was wearing, ever.

Why care when you are just going to get to change in an hour due to baby issues?

Yet I had been worrying about my clothes.

In fact it was a major fear.

Could I ever find clothes that fit?
Would I even know what was the correct thing when I found it?
How do I justify buying clothes when we have bills?
Maybe if I try really hard to…

When I read the verse it as if God spoke clearly to me.

“Child, why are you worrying over what you will wear?”

(And I know it sounds crazy but at this point in life I had more than once burst into tears over a clothes shopping nightmare.)

It was a new way to trust Him.

And as always once I stopped worrying things began to blossom in ways I couldn’t imagine.

And things still do.

Tuesday and Thursdays are very full in our schedule. Yesterday was Thursday, so when I received an invitation from the love of my life to go to dinner I was surprised.

However I jumped at the chance to spend some time together.

While running errands I was praying and felt I should drop by the second hand store.

“Well okay Lord, I can look for pants for Jason.”

However I didn’t feel that was what I was to look for.

So we drove over and Jason did find a pair of camo pants. Bethany found a pair of leggings.

I however was certain why we came was something else.

image

It was to bless my husband with a new dress just for our date.

It blessed me as well.

I remembered that a few days previous I had randomly said to the Lord, “I’d really like to get another sheath like the grey one I already have.”

Did I focus on this want?
Nope.
I didn’t even continue to think about it after telling the desire to the Lord.

Because I’ve learned if I was to have another dress one way or another I would.

In this case it was waiting for me on the rack of a second hand store.
Other times it has been a gift or a hand-me-down.
Sometimes it is brand new in a department store.

But no longer do I worry about what I am wearing,  because trust can be even in the everyday things.

“And why do you worry about clothes?  See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field,  which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will He not much more clothe you–you of little faith?” Matt. 6:28-30

4 thoughts on ““Clothes the grass of the field”

  1. Linda Ashton

    Thank you for reminding me to put my faith in God for all our needs…I was just sitting here worrying when I decided to read your blog! Bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

