Just a tea cup

image

I don’t know about you,
but I know about me (at least a little bit).

I often forget the purpose,
think about myself in a way,
that isn’t correct,
and therefore try to force something
I wasn’t created to fill.

Let me explain.

Like a tea cup,
pitcher,
water jug,
coffee mug,
or
any other container,
I was created by God for a purpose.

He makes the purpose clear in His word.

He made each person because He loves us and wants to be in a relationship with us.

Part of the purpose for the relationship between us and the Lord is to be to bless and build others up as they learn about God and grow in their own relationship with Him.

Like a tea cup, what makes it a tea cup is the one who formed it with that purpose in mind.

It can hold other liquid.

It can just be empty.

But it’s purpose is to hold tea.

Just like the tea cup,
I am content when I’m functioning in the place I was created by God to fill.

Yet I forget.

I didn’t choose what I was created by God to be.

He did.

And I must focus on His will for my life or I begin to think my own efforts have brought me here.

It’s called pride.

It’s not a nice thing.

It shoves God out of His position in my thinking and feeds my ego with a lot of self.

Honestly,
I don’t want to be prideful.

I don’t want to shove God aside, thinking I’ve got it all together.

Yet it creeps into my mind unless I’m on my guard,
unless I am listening each day to the heart of the Father.

Last night as I was reading my Bible, a verse convinced me I’m not the only person who has struggled with remembering the purpose.

” Do not think in your heart, after the LORD your God has cast them out before you, saying, ‘Because of my righteousness the Lord has brought me in to possess this land;'” Deut. 9:4 a

This verse goes on to remind them Who God is and why He chose to bless them.

How easy it is to look at people on the news or read about others and pat myself on the back because I’m not going through that.

Yet I have pleaded with the Lord not to allow me to do so.

First,
it would be pride to think I am some how a better person.

But more importantly I never want to degrade God’s creation.

Each person was formed by God, just as He formed me.

Each person is loved by God, just as He loves me.

Can a tea cup stick up their nose at the coffee cup?

It would be ridiculous.

They are equal.
Both created for a purpose.
Both unable to fulfill that purpose without the Creator.
Both equally important.
Both equally dependant.

Today, I have asked the Lord for ability to be humble.

To remember my purpose,
To walk in understanding,
To encourage others,
and to realize
I’m only a vessel.

The One Who can change lives is the Creator…Jesus.

And I am only full when in service to Him.

One thought on “Just a tea cup

Leave a Reply

