Outside the box

image

Sometimes,

on random days,

once-in-a- while,

I get to think outside the box.

I am one of those people who are very comfortable in the “box”.

Point A leads to point B and so on, till all of it comes together in a tidy, sterile diagram.

Yet,
I married a man,
who doesn’t allow
The Box
to contain his imagination.

Tonight he flips on some music and begins to explain a mime he’s been working on to teach the Sunday School the story of creation.

Of course it was only moments before explaining led to action and I was the engaged audience,
watching as stars, sun, moon, plants and animals began being formed.

Am I married to an actor?

No.

He actually works a very detailed job in maintenance at a nearby lumber mill.

But he’s not closed to using creativity to speak louder than words.

Does he do random things that have caused me some frustration?

Yes.

Because I live in the box and being creative is something I feel has to be scheduled and planned and “I just wasn’t expecting to…” at least not right now.

However,
I know that God isn’t concerned with my idea of the way it all needs to fit together.

He’s concerned about my trusting Him,
loving those around me,
and continually growing in character (No matter how I dislike the discomfort).

So,
as I was reminded this evening,
there are more important things than the sterile, diagram.

God created my husband,
and it was His gift that causes him to be
Creative.

And maybe,
just maybe,
I too can think outside the box.

Because,  often times there are amazing things awaiting the heart ready to let go of the diagram and allow God’s creativity to teach them something new.

“For we are His workmanship,  created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.” Eph.2:10

Leave a Reply

