Something special

image

Those little unexpected,
blessings.

This ceramic jar and the flowers inside were both unexpected blessings for me.

Our oldest girl saved the pot from the trash and brought it home to me.

“It just looked like you,  Mom.”

The flowers were a gift from my father-in-law.

“Hopie, (my nickname) just cut your favorite ones off the bush and take them home.”

I did and I enjoy them each day.

That is how the Word is as well.

Often I open my Bible and find an unexpected gift.

This morning it was in Isaiah.

” For the LORD will comfort Zion, He will comfort all her waste places; He will make her wilderness like Eden, And her desert like the garden of the LORD;  Joy and gladness will be found in it, Thanksgiving and the voice of melody. ”  51:3

Each day I am reminded this is not our home, but simply a shadow of the goodness of God in what is to come.

Yet God understands the pain and havoc sin is taking upon the people and He seeks to comfort those who are willing.

My unexpected gift,
this morning,
was not just the security in the promises to come,
but the comfort of My Father,
in today.

Leave a Reply

