Tea time with the Lord

image

Recently,
I was enjoying a cup of tea,
while reading my Bible
and came across a scripture which puzzled me.

So I stopped to reflect.

“When the morning dawned, the angels urged Lot to hurry…And while he lingered, the men took hold of his hand,  his wife’s hand, and the hands of his two daughters,  the Lord being merciful to him, and they brought him out and set him outside the city. So when it came to pass,  when they had brought them outside,  that he said,  ‘Escape for your life! Do not look behind you nor stay anywhere in the plain. Escape to the mountains lest you be destroyed.’ ”
Gen. 19:15a, 16-17

The story goes on to tell how Lot stood there an argued with the angel to spare the city of Zoar because he  was afraid to go to the mountains. He even said, “I cannot escape to the mountains, lest some evil overtake me and I die.”

The angel agrees and Lot and his family make it to Zoar. When they do judgment comes in the form of brimstone and fire to every other city in the area but not Zoar as the angel promised.

For some reason, Lot’s wife looked back and turned into a pillar of salt. Yet the story continues. Lot becomes even more afraid and flees to the mountains, the very place he refused to go in the first place.

I understand being afraid.

What puzzled me was his inconsistent choices.

First, he refused to obey despite the fact these very angels had saved him previously from an angry mob by striking them with blindness.

Then he sees the consequences of his wife’s disobedience to their direct warning to not look back.

Yet he flees for his life from the refuge of his own choosing.

It is obvious he was running, scared blind.

What was blinding him?

The Lord answered,
“His perspective was off. He couldn’t see that which had been done just to preserve his life, he kept making choices based on emotion.”

–Sigh–

I did the exact thing this week.

One problem after another I simply ran to “fix” but all my effort was in vain for I would get to the problem and find God had already answered.

My running had caused nothing but stress and frustration.

My perspective was off.

Praise the Lord,
I finally noticed as I was relating the troubles to one of our teachers.

“I have been running around like crazy, when I should have been saying,  ‘Wow, this is a problem, I wonder what God is going to do through it?'”

Since my cup of tea with the Lord,
I have been praying
for perspective.

I don’t want to choose out of emotion,
I want to follow God’s direction.

Leave a Reply

