Each day

image

Too often I work at cutting into tomorrow.

If one could slice into my thoughts,
the “I can do—and get ahead for tomorrow,” would be too common.

In the middle of working.

While I was focused on getting my list completed.

I ran across a Bible verse on a 3×5 card.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matt 6:34

Not unfamiliar,
but as is often true,
something new struck me.

One of the Bible teachers at school is teaching through Exodus.

Recently he spoke of the manna.

God made it clear.

The Israelites were to only gather enough for the day.

If they gathered more,
contrary to His instructions,
it spoiled and grew maggots.

The two things fit together for me.

If I try to slide into today some of the worries and cares and business which belong in tomorrow I am gathering too much manna.

Each day God has given me a gift.

Each day He knows exactly what I will be doing and how much resources I need.

When I try to cut ahead,
on my own strength, in my own will,
I spoil what He has given me for today.

Therefore I need to seek Him for His schedule and time line and chores for each day instead of forging ahead with my own.

Sigh!

No wonder I feel burnt out sometimes!

Each day,
God fills,
with His peace,
to walk me through the trouble.

Each day I can rest in His plan and path instead of trying to “get ahead”.

After all,
which of us understands the road ahead?

Which of us will be able to face the trouble on our own?

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matt 6:33

3 thoughts on “Each day

  1. jessofplummer

    This is such a good reminder. I needed to read this today. Thank you so much for being such a blessing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

