Rain

image

Growing up in the desert,
means I love the rain.

Even though we have lived in places where it rains almost daily.

I still love the rain.

There used to be a country song I owned talking about the singer “falling” for his girl like the rain.

It could be included that my family has had to live many times without enough water to wash clothes or take showers and rain means water.

However, I no longer focus on these things when the rain begins.

Lev. 26:4
“then I shall give you rains in their season, so that the land will yield it’s produce and the trees of the field will bear their fruit.”

Rain waters, refreshes, revives.

Job 5:10
“He (God) gives rain on the earth and sends water on the fields, ”

Rain is a part of the water cycle but God is the One who created it. He understands His creation and gives us a beautiful picture of Himself through something as common as rain.

Even Solomon used the lack of rain to be a proverb.

Like clouds and wind without rain is a man who boasts of his gifts falsely.”  Prov. 25:14

As the rain waters the flowers and soaks the skin, I look up (with my eyes closed) and think of the Father.

I thank Him for the rain.
I ask Him to cleanse my heart of bitterness or sin or jealousy.
I remember that God sends the rain and it can remind me of my dependence on Him.

Leave a Reply

