The game

image

There is something very American about football.

No matter what level,
no matter where it’s played,
no matter the outcome,
it is a very American game.

Although it has taken years to change my view point, it is a game I love.

Not because I appreciate watching bodies slammed into the dirt.

Nor do I look forward to the rush of adrenaline as one lone player is running for all they have with a pack of others gaining on them toward the goal.

Knowing the players by name has changed my view.

To be able to yell for the little boy turned man, I used to have in Sunday School, is exciting.

To know that number 20 is playing with an injury because he loves the game and won’t let his team down is inspiring.

To watch and listen to the players shout words of encouragement to each other from the sidelines is touching.

To rub elbows with parents and friends and neighbors as we gain the joy of seeing our kids work together to attain the “win” is belonging.

All of it puts in mind a different fight.

A fight not of yards or scores but of life.

How much farther would our family go in a day if I treated them as my team rather than the opposition?

What kind of unity would we gain from huddling up before the throne of God to receive our “plays”?

If I am standing on the sidelines am I shouting encouragement or words of reproach?

When the day is over do we come together to thank each other for the help they were? Even something as simple as “thanks for being part of the team!”?

Maybe this is why God speaks to us about being the body of Christ.

1 Cor. 12:14-15
“For the body is not one member,  but many. If the foot says, ‘Because I am not a hand, I am not a part of the body.'”

1 Cor. 12:27
“Now you are Christ’s body, and individually members of it.”

As I download from the day I strive to put the “thank yous” into my evening.

As I pray for myself, I am reminded to cover other members of the body.

Tomorrow as I suit up for another “play” in the game of life I will strive to look at those around me as part of the team.

Because no quarterback could make the pass without a receiver.

No hand could reach out without the arm.

I can’t be “on my own”.

I need my family.
I need the team.
I need the body of Christ.

One thought on “The game

Leave a Reply

