Thoughts

image

Where do thoughts come from?

At times mine are planted from things I have read or heard.

Others it has been spoken words that replay like voice mail in my brain.

The thoughts of fear, and failure, and tragedy are normally not mine but have been shot at me like arrows from the enemy of my soul.

But all of these are washed away in the thoughts of Scripture.

Something so refreshing as, “He shall feed His flock like a shepherd: He shall gather the lambs with His arm, and carry them in His bosom, and shall gently lead those that are with young.” Is.40:11

As a mother who’s greatest desire is to bless and encourage our children it is so comforting to know it all doesn’t rest on my abilities.

I am being led.

As long as I choose to walk in the path of the Master and to allow the Good Shepherd to guide me I can rest in His leading.

Even in my thoughts,  I can choose to follow Him.

Am I worried about my daughter’s progress in math?

I can spend those moments in prayer for her.

Am I concerned about the physical safety of the girls in sports?

I can seek the Lord as to how to train them to be safe, but only after trusting the Lord with them.

Do I find my thoughts lingering near the ugly and ungodly?

I can seek forgiveness and again apply scripture to heal and nourish my soul.

So where do thoughts come from?

I hope yours as well as mine are being bathed in scripture as we are led down the paths of righteousness.

Leave a Reply

