Jump in!

image

At times,

it takes,

the guts,

to jump in.

Sometimes it is learning to swim.

Other times it involves some thought before the plunge.

But “it” doesn’t happen unless you jump.

What am I talking about?

life

So often we have to choose to do,
to go,
to try,
to risk.

I can hear the doubts.

“What if…?”

And there is a question that needs to be asked but it isn’t that one.

“What is God’s will for me?”

It seems like that should be simple, but at times God can seem very quiet.

For me those times are an invitation to seek Him.

But once I have the answer I still have a choice.

Do I choose to get wet?
Do I choose to follow what I have been told?
Do I choose to trust Him?

To my shame I have spent a lot of time staring at the water.

But those times I obeyed the still small voice I found,

that I often
was drowning.

I had obeyed but now what?!

And in every one of those times (when I stopped flailing my arms and sucking in water) God’s life vest was securely strapped around me.

I am learning to enjoy the plunge.

Life is more than being comfortable or even safe.

Because no matter the risk, my life isn’t life at all without Him.

And to disobey what I know I am supposed to do is refusing to live.

Because it isn’t my life anyway.

It’s a gift.

How I use the gift
reflects on the Giver.

“All things were made by Him; and without Him was not any thing made that was made. In Him was life; and the life was the light of men.” John 1:3-4

Leave a Reply

