David

image

It surprised me.

He was retelling the story of David and Goliath.

“David ‘ s dad sent him to the battle to take food to his brothers.  Because Jesus loves everybody. So when he got there he saw Goliath. And…”

The perfectionist in me wanted to stop him and say, “Jesus was not there.”

But thankfully my husband was present and I knew he was right when I looked at him and he shook his head.

Our son didn’t need correction about this.

He needed a pat on the back because for him to retell a story in order is very difficult.

We both told him
“Good job!”

And hugged him on his way to bed.

This morning I was thinking about his addition to the story.

And I was surprised.

Jase was right.

Jesus does love everybody.

After all He was there at creation.

Gen. 1:1, John 1:1

It is through God’s example of love that we love Him and others.

Gen. 1:26, 1 John 4:11, 19

And we know that David had faith in God.

1 Sam. 17: 36-37

Is there a Bible story that we couldn’t add the phrase, “Because Jesus loves everybody” ?

I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

