Crying

image

I have a friend,

who once related the fact that she struggles with being able to cry

without guilt.

As a child she was very emotional and often felt insecure.

In those moments she would cry and be in trouble.

“I can’t remember a time I haven’t been in trouble for crying. From childhood on–even my husband doesn’t understand that me crying isn’t a power play, I just sometimes feel better after letting out my emotions. Why doesn’t anyone understand? Am I weird?!”

Sigh–

What words of comfort I could grasp I tried to convey.

Honey,
God made tears, and since even Jesus cried I don’t feel it is a sin.

The problem is that people can and have used tears to manipulate.

(Be certain when you need to cry it’s not to get your own way.)

Some people feel that showing tears is a sign of weakness, which should be overcome at all costs.

(Maybe your parents were trying to help you be tough and learn to overcome fear?)

I know your husband loves you, possibly he sees your tears as a result of his failure and he is trying to make amends. You should ask him why he doesn’t like to have you cry.

But dear, God is not offended by your tears.

When you feel you are in need of a good cry take it to Jesus and pray. Let your tears flow with your prayers.

He’s ready to comfort the hurting.
To restore the broken.
To help you to see areas of sin that need to be dealt with.
To replace the fear with trust.

You might want to keep a journal handy, just in case you have something you want to remember.

And until then read the Gospels again. Take note of how Jesus handles those who are emotional.
……………………………
With a smile
I pray my words
are a blessing.

And I think.

Lord, there is such a thing as a good cry.

“Therefore, when Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who came with her weeping, He groaned in the spirit and was troubled. And He said, ‘Where have you laid him?’ They said to Him, ‘Lord, come and see.’ Jesus wept. Then the Jews said,  ‘See how He loved him!'”
John 11:33-36

Leave a Reply

