Trust

20140803_093736Ps. 56:10-11 “In God (I will praise His word,) In the LORD (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

Fear is a constant enemy.

It takes effort and choice for me to fight being afraid of somethings.

As a child fear would rise up and cripple me,

During tests,

With relationships,

Even over homework.

I remember being about nine and lying awake in bed with the fear that I hadn’t turned in my English homework. I cried myself to sleep over the thought that I had forgotten one single piece of paper.

I can laugh about it now.

I can think of all kinds of things I wish I had thought of. Like, my teacher was a kind gentle lady who would have understood. Or the fact that I was late on one assignment would not affect the rest of my life.

It turned out all my fears were wasted– I had turned it in.

As I have been able to look backward with a clearer view on life, I can easily say that most of the things I have gone to pieces about were not worth the effort.

When the thought, “What if something BAD happens,”

I can now say–

“In God I have put my trust, I will not be afraid.”

Is it because I blindly walk through life thinking no bad will come my way?

Not a chance.

Because of sin, bad will occur but the part that makes me able to not be afraid is trust.

TRUST

Easy word– Difficult to walk in.

At least it is for me.

Perhaps you are immune to fear.

If that is the case try to be compassionate for those who struggle.

I have often been told: “Just don’t worry so much!” or “You are making such a big deal out of nothing!”

Well– most of those times I knew I was being silly.

But the fear seemed too big to over come,

and the thought of trying to pull it together, impossible.

Those times have grown fewer and I have learned to do something when I begin to feel that way which has made a big difference.

As I feel myself being gripped by terror,

I close my eyes.

I picture myself as a child reaching up

and taking the hand of my Heavenly Father.

With one hand in His, I am always more able

to say,

“Lord, I trust You.”

 

2 thoughts on “Trust

  1. Manny Rutinel

    What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own personal blog, so feel free to check out my profile where you’ll find my blog and social media sites.

    Have a great day 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

