Happy

 

 

“Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help, Whose hope is in the LORD his God.”

2013-12-05 16.41.20Psalm 146:5
All through scripture we can see examples of people who are both happy and sad.
Hagar, when she fled from before Sarai, was anything but happy.
Alone, in the wilderness, she met God.
The Bible doesn’t tell us whether or not she was happy but we know she returned home.

 

Joseph was more than likely anything but happy when his brothers tossed him into the pit and then sold as a slave.
However, Joseph, many years later, comforts his brothers in their fears (they thought that he was simply waiting to get revenge). He utters something profound.
“But as for you, you meant evil against me; but Go meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.” Gen. 50:20
What about you?

 
Can you look back and see that when you lean on the LORD you have had His help? He has saved you and the outcome was ultimately a happy one?
Although I have lived only a short time, 37 years, I can say a resounding, “YES!”.
He has helped me in my times of trouble.
He has walked with me and caused the pain of many circumstances to melt into joy.
He has been with me, and no matter what my day holds,
I am happy, for the LORD is with me.

 

I can almost hear the response of those who are hurting from some pain in their past or present–

“You just don’t understand, I can’t be happy with this!”

 

And I understand that attitude.

I have experienced hurt.

My Dad was killed in a tragic accident.

My husband and I have been in such financial need that people were buying our groceries.

I have lived through pain that kept me from holding down my food and sleeping at night and made me wonder if I would ever be able to function again.

Our nephew was killed in a hit and run incident.

I never felt happy about any of these things when the pain is razor sharp and the nightmare has become reality.

But I can say that God was my help and in that

I was happy.

 

Leave a Reply

