Promises

Promise

 

 

 

 

 

In reading a friend’s blog this morning I thought about promise.
Promises made.
Promises broken.
Promises yet to come.
Promises fulfilled.
It reminds me of how little I am able to do or follow through on anything without help from my Savior.
I can promise to take the kids on an outing but if the van breaks the day of, I’m sunk.
I can promise to love and speak words of encouragement, but when I’m worn and tired and broken,
I fail.
My only hope is in the One who fulfilled all His promises by stretching out His arms and
Dying.
But the greatest thing is He didn’t stay in the grave.
He rose to bring me knew life and a chance to still move forward even when I have failed
AGAIN.
I have tried to teach this truth to my children.
To live it before my friends.
To walk in it for my family.
But I fail.
I break my promises.
I lose my temper.
I hurt those I love the most.
But!
“For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God. Likewise you also, reckon yourselves to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 6:10-11

So what is keeping you behind the gates of guilt?

What promises have been made to you and broken and you are holding it against those who did the dirty deed?

How are you at keeping promises?

Are you able to follow through on each thing you have said you would do?

Are you anger and broken for the lack of love or the loss of promise?

There is hope, my friend, for those who are hurting, for the broken and the abused. There is truth and justice and love for the ones who least deserve it. There is a God who loves you so much that He sent His Son to rescue you from all the broken promises of this world, namely sin.

Might I encourage you to find out more about him. Read the Bible, especially the gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. He is my hero and the keeper of the biggest and best promise:
Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

